Jump to content
NAKIVO Community Forum

Recommended Posts

Posted

I am new to replica.

I have successfully created and executed a replica job between two ESXi hosts.

Everything went fine and I was able to power on  the replicated VM on the new ESXi host. I have noticed that the replica has one snapshot: can I safely delete it? Or do I need to keep it?

 

  • Like 1
Posted
On 12/12/2022 at 7:22 PM, Fabio Vitale said:

I am new to replica.

I have successfully created and executed a replica job between two ESXi hosts.

Everything went fine and I was able to power on  the replicated VM on the new ESXi host. I have noticed that the replica has one snapshot: can I safely delete it? Or do I need to keep it?

 

@Fabio Vitale

In the NAKIVO replication job, when the data is transferred to the replica VM, NAKIVO creates a snapshot on the replica VM. This snapshot calls a recovery point, which means you can recover your data at this point.

The Retention policy defines the number of recovery points (snapshots) on the replica VM (https://helpcenter.nakivo.com/User-Guide/Content/Replication/Creating-VMware-Replication-Jobs/Replication-Job-Wizard-for-VMware-Retention.htm).

You can delete this snapshot. However, we recommend not deleting it. We look forward to hearing from you. Best regards.

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...